According to recent reports, Charlotte, North Carolina is one of the fastest-growing cities in the entire country. The “Queen City” as it’s often called has added almost 20,000 new residents in the last 5 years. That has brought its population up over the 850,000 mark.
Many of the people who have moved to Charlotte, NC in recent years have done so because of work. If you’re one of these people, it’ll be very important for you to familiarize yourself with the labor laws in Charlotte, NC and the surrounding areas.
By educating yourself on the local labor laws in Charlotte, NC, you’ll ensure that you know your workplace rights. You’ll also ensure that you know what the employer responsibilities are in the city. And you’ll even ensure that you know what employment discrimination looks like when you see it.
Here are seven essential facts to know about the labor laws in Charlotte, NC at this time.
1. The Minimum Wage in Charlotte, NC Remains at $7.25 Per Hour
There are a bunch of states throughout the country that have chosen to raise their minimum wages over the last few years. In fact, more than half of the states now have minimum wages that are higher than the national minimum wage, which currently sits at $7.25 per hour.
But unfortunately, North Carolina is not one of them. If you work in Charlotte, NC and are paid minimum wage, you’re still only going to get $7.25 per hour from your employer.
2. Charlotte, NC Employers Must Provide Employees With Overtime Pay
Employers in Charlotte, NC might only have to pay their employees $7.25 per hour under normal circumstances. But if they have them work more than 40 hours per week, they’re required to set them up with overtime pay.
Overtime pay is 1.5 times what a person usually makes for each hour worked over the 40-hour threshold. And this, of course, includes both those who make minimum wage as well as those who make any other amount of money while working for their employers.
3. Charlotte, NC Employers Do Not Have to Provide Most Employees With Paid Rest or Meal Breaks
If Charlotte, NC employers have employees on their payrolls that are 14 or 15, they must give these employees at least one 30-minute break when they are scheduled to work for more than 5 hours at a time.
However, if Charlotte, NC employers have employees on their payrolls that are 16 and up, they don’t have to provide them with paid rest or meal breaks. That being said, they are also not permitted to ask these employees to do anything work-related during their rest or meal breaks without providing them with compensation.
4. Charlotte, NC Employers Are Not Required to Give Employees Sick Leave, Vacation Leave, or Holiday Leave
Many employers in Charlotte, NC set their employees up with perks like sick leave, vacation leave, and holiday leave. These types of leave can be used to motivate people to accept positions in Charlotte, NC.
But it’s worth noting that employers in Charlotte, NC do not have to give employees sick leave, vacation leave, or holiday leave if they don’t want to do it. Additionally, they aren’t required to provide holiday pay to those who work on holidays unless this results in them working more than 40 hours in a week, in which case they would be eligible for overtime pay.
Charlotte, NC employers are also not called upon by employment law to give employees jury duty leave, bereavement leave, or voting leave.
5. Charlotte, NC Employers Do Not Have to Hand Out Severance Pay to Former Employees
If a Charlotte, NC employer decides to part ways with an employee or employees for one reason or another, they don’t have to provide them with severance pay.
With this in mind, there are many Charlotte, NC employers that do provide severance pay to former employees. They include information about their severance pay policies in the contracts that they give to employees when they first start working for them.
If you believe that you might be entitled to severance pay from a Charlotte, NC employer, you will need to reference your employment contract to find information on it.
6. Employees of Charlotte, NC Employers Are Entitled to Workers’ Compensation Following Workplace Injuries
If a person is ever injured while working for a Charlotte, NC employer, they will be entitled to workers’ compensation under North Carolina’s labor laws. These laws specifically say that anyone who is injured while on the job in Charlotte, NC can collect workers’ compensation, regardless of whether or not they were to blame for their injuries.
If you’re ever injured at work in Charlotte, NC and struggle to collect workers’ compensation, you’ll need one of the best personal injury lawyers to handle your case. They can help you with your workers’ compensation claim and increase your chances of it being successful.
7. Charlotte, NC Workers Are Able to Collect Unemployment in Most Situations
If you ever lose a job through no fault of your own, you should be able to collect unemployment while you search for a new job. North Carolina labor laws make it possible for many people to collect unemployment in most situations after losing a job.
You will, however, be asked to claim unemployment payments on a weekly basis throughout the course of your unemployment. You might also be asked to show proof that you have been looking for a new job to replace the one that you lost.
Knowing the Labor Laws in Charlotte, North Carolina Is Very Important
Because there are so many people moving from other states to Charlotte, North Carolina for work purposes right now, there are a lot of people in the city who aren’t up on its latest labor laws. This has led to a ton of confusion among those who work in Charlotte, NC.
You need to know about the labor laws in Charlotte, NC if you plan on working in the Queen City. You should commit each of the essential facts on this list to memory and do your best to learn about some of the other facets of North Carolina’s labor laws.
Read more informative articles on labor laws and workplace rights by searching for them on the rest of our blog.