Did you know that the police pull over 32 million Americans a year? More bad news, getting a ticket can increase your insurance rates by 48 percent, and two or more tickets can more than double your insurance rate.
Whether you’re traveling to Georgia or moving to Georgia, it’s imperative that you understand traffic laws when driving in Georgia. Getting a ticket cannot only ruin your vacation but drive up your insurance rates.
If you’re getting ready to head south and grab some peaches, or you’re just driving through on your way to sunny Florida, keep reading for what you need to know about Georgia driving laws.
One: Click It or Ticket
The state of Georgia requires you to wear your seatbelt when you’re riding in the front seat. At the same time, while everyone in the front seat is required to wear a seatbelt, adults in the backseat are not.
However, any child under 17 in the backseat is required to wear a seatbelt. Children under eight must be in the backseat in a booster seat or car seat.
While the cost of a seatbelt violation runs lower, the price of a child under eight not being correctly restrained in the car is hefty.
Georgia also has what gets referred to as primary seatbelt laws. In states with primary seatbelt laws, law enforcement can pull you over simply for observing that you’re not wearing a seatbelt.
Two: Move Over or Slow Down
Do you see an emergency vehicle with flashing lights on the side of the road? It’s your responsibility to move over, if possible.
If you’re not able to move over because of traffic, you need to slow down below the speed limit and get prepared to stop if necessary. This law helps ensure the safety of emergency personnel and the people they’re helping.
Three: Turn Your Headlights on During Adverse Conditions
During “adverse conditions,” you’re required to turn your headlights on. This language is a little ambiguous, so how do you know when to turn those lights on?
Foggy weather, rain, or other weather that makes visibility difficult should be your cue. Another good rule of thumb is that if you have to turn on your windshield wipers, turn on your lights too.
Four: Hands-Free Driving
It’s against the law to even hold your phone in your hand while driving in Georgia. However, if you’re able to use your phone utilizing hands-free technology, this is still allowed.
Just don’t get caught with your phone in hand.
Five: Watch Those Traffic Lanes
If you’re on the highway and in the left lane, make sure you’re passing other drives. Georgia traffic laws make it possible for you to get pulled over if you’re holding up traffic in the left lane.
So make sure you’re passing or in the right lane.
Six: DUI Laws
According to Georgia’s driving laws, your BAC doesn’t need to be 0.08 percent or higher for you to get charged with a DUI. If an officer determines that you are under the influence, they can ticket you, even without a BAC.
For just a first offense, you could see up to one year in jail, community service, probation, fines, a suspended license, and a DUI education course. A judge can also require you to undergo a DUI evaluation.
Stay safe, and don’t get behind the wheel when you’re under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Stay Safe Driving in Georgia
Don’t face raised insurance premiums because of traffic violations. Before you head to the peach state, make sure you know regulations when driving in Georgia.
Now that you’re aware of Georgia driving laws, drive on over to our other articles and find more helpful tips and tricks.