Have you been involved in a hit-and-run accident but don’t know what to do next?
Unfortunately, hit and runs happen on a daily basis, and the numbers rise year after year. In fact, according to NHTSA, there were approximately 737,100 hit and runs in 2015 alone. When broken down, this translates to one hit and run every 43 seconds.
Because of the multitude of factors that separate each hit and run case, many are left unclear on what to do after a hit and run. Thus, today we will discuss the various hit-and-run legal options available.
No-Fault Car Insurance States
The first thing you should do after being involved in a hit and run is lookup your state’s laws. If you’re in a no-fault insurance state, the process will mimic that of a standard accident.
Thus, your own insurance will pay your medical bills (up to a certain point) and any out-of-pocket losses.
Every state with no-fault insurance has slightly different rules regarding hit and runs. Therefore, it’s important to do your research before making any decisions.
Unfortunately, not all states offer no-fault insurance. In fact, most don’t. The only states that offer no-fault insurance include Florida, Michigan, New York, Pennsylvania, Hawaii, New Jersey, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Utah, and North Dakota.
It’s also worth noting that no-fault insurance typically won’t cover vehicle damage. However, you can get collision coverage to get reimbursed for your vehicle’s damage.
In-Fault Car Insurance States
If your state doesn’t offer no-fault insurance coverage, you’ll need to get uninsured motorist car insurance coverage (UIM).
UIM offers coverage for those who get in an accident with an uninsured motorist. It’s also applicable in hit-and-run situations.
Should I Hire an Attorney?
The decision to hire an attorney is up to you. However, if you’re in an in-fault car insurance state and lack UIM coverage, you should consult with an attorney, and they’ll discuss your best options.
On the other hand, you still have the option of hiring an attorney in a no-fault car insurance state. A study by the Insurance Research Council found that claimants with an attorney received an average bodily injury payment of $16,658, while those without an attorney only received $4,699.
Therefore, you shouldn’t fear the expenses of hiring a personal injury lawyer, as you’ll likely end up with a much higher payout than you would by solely relying on your insurance to cover damages. If you’re seeking a personal injury lawyer, shapirolawaz.com is a great place to start.
Hit and Runs: What Are My Best Options?
Unfortunately, hit and runs are on the rise. According to an AAA Study, hit and run accidents increase an average of 7.2 percent every year.
Therefore, it’s important to be prepared in case you find yourself in this situation. UIM coverage is a great option for those located in in-fault car insurance states.
If you’ve already been involved in a hit and run, it’s important to know your options. Depending on the circumstances, your insurance may cover many of the expenses. However, it’s almost always best to seek the guidance of a qualified attorney.
We hope this article cleared up your concerns regarding hit and runs. If so, be sure to check out our other personal injury and lawyer-related articles!